Taubman Lectures in Jewish Studies

The Herman P. and Sophie Taubman Lectures in Jewish Studies brings distinguished scholars in the fields of Jewish studies to teach at Berkeley for the enrichment of students and to give open lectures for the benefit of the public at large. The lecture series was established at the University of California, Berkeley in 1975 by grants from Milton I. Taubman and the Taubman Foundation together with support from the family of Maurice Amado, Walter A. Haas, Daniel E. Koshland, Madeleine Haas Russell, and Benjamin H. Swig. Herman P. Taubman (1892-1960) was a prominent philanthropist and leading member of the Jewish community of Tulsa.

Where possible, the published version of the lectures—also supported by the Taubman Foundation—has been linked.

Next Lecture


Previous Lectures

2022 Paula Fredriksen, Hebrew University, Jerusalem

2019 Moshe Taube, Hebrew University of Jerusalem

2019 Naomi Seidman, University of Toronto

2018 Annette Yoshiko Reed, New York University

2017 David Biale, University of California, Davis

2016 Michael Gluzman, Tel Aviv University

2015 Elchanan Reiner, Tel Aviv University

2013 John J. Collins, Yale Divinity School

2011 Elisheva Carlebach, Columbia University

2010 Sassan Shomekh, Tel Aviv University

2008 Tova Rosen, Ben Gurion University

2007 Lee I. Levine, Hebrew University, Jerusalem

2006 David Noel Freedman, University of California, San Diego

2005 Aharon Shemesh, Bar Ilan University

2004 Benjamin Harshav, Yale University

2002 Chava Turniansky, Hebrew University, Jerusalem

2001 Elliot R. Wolfson, New York University

2000 Galit Hasan-Rokem, Hebrew University, Jerusalem

1993 Amos Funkenstein, University of California, Berkeley

1992 Steven Zipperstein, Stanford University, Palo Alto

1991 Jacob R. Sussmann, Hebrew University, Jerusalem

Nurith Gertz, Open University, Tel Aviv

1989 Moshe Weinfeld, Hebrew University, Jerusalem

1988 Hayim Tadmor, Hebrew University, Jerusalem

1987 Matitiahu Tsevat, Hebrew Union College, Cincinnati

1986 David Hartman, Hebrew University, Jerusalem

1985 Menachem Friedman, Bar Ilan University

Yonathan Shapiro, Tel Aviv University

1984 Shlomo Morag, Hebrew University, Jerusalem

1983 Zeev Falk, Hebrew University, Jerusalem

1982 Bernard Blumenkranz, Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique, Paris

1981 Moshe Greenberg, Hebrew University, Jerusalem

1980 Dan Pagis, Hebrew University, Jerusalem

  • Pagis, Dan. 1991. Hebrew Poetry of the Middle Ages and the Renaissance (Taubman Lectures in Jewish Studies, Vol. 2). Berkeley: University of California Press.

1979 Zvi Ankori, Tel Aviv University